All-Consuming Insecurity

landscape-nature-clouds-cloudy

Hey All,

Let’s talk about insecurity. I know that we all have dealt with self-insecurity in some way. As we discussed in one of my previous posts called “A Security that Falters”, if we are depending on the flesh, we cannot be truly steady. When we are unsure of ourselves and our futures, we tend to hide behind a mask of criticism so that other people are not paying attention to our own faults. Criticism can come in many forms; as a lady, I know that is quite easy to fall into a pattern of gossiping without noticing that I am doing so. It can seem harmless, especially when the person who is being talked about is unaware that she/he is being talked about. However, according to Scripture, there is a consequence for our actions. Galatians 5:15 (ESV), “But if you bite and devour one another, watch out that you are not consumed by one another.” Criticism is a difficult habit to break which stems from a heart that is not completely living in God’s freedom. It stems from a heart that is consumed with their self-image.

I remember that there was a time when I was sick for a little under a year with a physical illness, and I struggled with deep insecurities. I was consumed with negative feelings toward myself. As I have learned over the years, physical illnesses can open up a place for spiritual attacks from the enemy, especially when they are long-term and uncertain. No matter how much encouragement I received, I could not be broken free of this brokenness within my soul. Through my physical healing, I also received inward healing. I was reminded of God’s all-consuming love for me that could swallow up my insecurities in an instant. I had at times tried to convince myself that I did not have a problem, and that I was simply being humble. According to Beth Moore’s Daniel Bible study, “thinking little of ourselves is still constantly thinking of ourselves.” God revealed to me that nobody was to blame for my emotional issues except for myself. By that I mean that nobody felt those negative feelings I felt about myself. I liked to play a blame game and divert the problem from my own heart and try to pin point it on other people. Now I am free! Oh, praise God, I am completely free!

For example, Aaron the brother of Moses, was a Bible character who struggled with insecurity. His insecurity ended up causing some problems for him. One time while Moses was up on Mount Sinai, the people of Israel asked Aaron to make an idol for them. Aaron buckled down under pressure. He was insecure about his identity in the Lord, and in his ability to stand firm. He built the idol. When Moses returned, Moses was furious and asked Aaron why he had done this terrible thing. Aaron turned to the blame game rather than owning up to his actions. Exodus 32:22-23 (ESV), “And Aaron said, ‘Let not the anger of my lord burn hot. You know the people, that they are set on evil. For they said to me, ‘Make us gods who shall go before us. As for this Moses, the man who brought us up out of the land of Egypt, we do not know what has become of him’.”

As believers we are no longer enslaved to sin. According to Galatians 5, what does a life of freedom in Christ look like? Galatians 5:22-23 (ESV), “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.” A life of freedom is not characterized by insecurity and criticism of others. Those shackles that we used to be bound to are broken. I don’t want to live a life that is consumed with my image, and a life that turns to the blame game when life gets “uncomfortable”. Life is going to be awkward sometimes, and people are going to notice your flaws, but we are supposed to live genuinely. I want to be able to say, “Yes, I am an imperfect human being, but I serve a God who is perfect; He never fails.” I am consumed with Christ and unashamed of it.

Thank you all for reading. May we not get caught up on our own self-image but have a Christ-centered attitude towards ourselves and towards the people around us. I hope you have a blessed week with strong coffee.

In Christ’s Love,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

