The Purpose Filled Mundane

mountain

Hi All,

I am currently writing to you from a hotel room. My family and I are on a lengthy road trip. I have to tell you that this has been such a splendid trip so far. It is always a pleasure to get away from the typical hub bub of ordinary life, especially when it involves family bonding. There are no people that I would rather pile into a van with for twenty hours. Anyway, speaking of ordinary life, I have noticed that I often get casual about life and sink into a haphazard routine. When we are caught up in a cycle of doing the same things and following to do lists, we can lose sight of life’s beauty. We forget that each moment of our lives was predestined before our birth and is filled with God’s purpose.

The “simple” moments we share with family at the dinner table, conversations with a co-worker during break, or cleaning a messy house after your rambunctious children have trashed the place are all beautiful to the Lord. The presence of the Lord does not only reside in the mountain-top highs of life when all is Pinterest-worthy. The Lord’s presence resides with you in the moments when you are sleep deprived and drinking a cup of lukewarm coffee just trying to study the Bible, but your kids are wildly running around you. He is there when you are falling apart over a failed relationship with a friend or significant other. A book which I definitely recommend on this topic is Simply Tuesday by Emily P. Freeman, and here is a quote from there, “What gives moments meaning is not the moments themselves, but the presence of Christ with us in the midst of them.”

This week I have been going through Psalm 139, and three verses about God’s presence in all circumstances stood out to me. Psalm 139:7-10, “Where shall I go from your Spirit?  Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.” Isn’t it amazing how the Lord is constantly pursuing us wherever we go? We cannot escape Him.

According to scripture, how does the Lord see our lives? Jeremiah 1:5, ““Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” The mixture of excitement and mundane of our lives are purpose filled and appointed before the beginning of time. As I reflected on this sweet truth, I questioned whether I was looking at life with this perspective. Am I seeing the simple moments of doing schoolwork and of routines as precious? As we go our separate ways, and I continue my trip, may we all not miss the beauty in our daily lives. May we see each day, each hour, and each minute as a purpose-filled gift from God.

“It is ingrained in us that we have to do exceptional things for God—but we do not. We have to be exceptional in the ordinary things of life, and holy on the ordinary streets, among ordinary people—and this is not learned in five minutes. —Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest”

Thank you all for reading. I will talk to you soon.

In Christ’s Love,

Sarah

One thought on “The Purpose Filled Mundane

Leave a Reply

