Ditch Analysis Paralysis; Embrace Reckless Abandon in Christ

mountains-nature-sky-sunny-large

Hello All,

As I have entered a season of life where I am readying to finish high school next year, I have been asking God what He wants to do with my life and what college He wants me to attend. A few months ago I was planning on heading down the path of nursing, which is a fantastic field. I praise God for the nurses, doctors, and other medics who have invested time and energy into helping me with my health issue. They are an incredible blessing, and it is an honorable call if you have been given it. However, that is not my call. I have always known that I love ministry, and that I love the church. However, through this time of physical suffering, God has taken my love a step further, and He has caused it to burst forth into an uncontainable passion. When I visited a college on my list of possibilities, I went to check out their nursing program but ended up falling in love with their ministry department. I clearly felt God leading me in that direction. That being said, I know it will not be an easy path which is well-accepted by those around me. It is not the best paying job out there. However, none of those things matter or worry me. I am ready to take this leap and to accept it with all of its challenges.

Oftentimes God calls us to do some wacky things that go outside of the social norms for His glory, but worry overtakes us and hinders us from fulfilling His purpose for our lives. We spend an abundance of time over-analyzing and stressing over the consequences of whatever risky thing God is calling us to. We analyze it to the point that we do nothing about what the Lord is saying. We make the choice to sit back, dwell on the potential outcomes, whether the choice is wrong or right, and we act off of our fears and try to delay and avoid decision making. Fear paralyzes us and withholds our feet from moving an inch. I have referenced this book in a couple of my recent posts, but a month ago I finished reading The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst, and I have gained a lot from it. Here is a quote from her, about what she calls analysis paralysis: “There is no perfect decision—only the perfectly surrendered decision to press through our fears and know that God is working in us to bring about good through us.”

Now let us dive into scripture to find examples of people who struggled with their own version of analysis paralysis when the Lord instructed them to move in an audacious way.

  1. Moses: When the Lord called Moses to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt, Moses doubted his own abilities, because he did not recognize that the Lord is strong in the midst of his inability. Exodus 3:11 (ESV), “But Moses said to God, ‘Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?’” He spent all of his time worrying about what he was lacking that he missed what God would do through him. Moses continued to try and wiggle out of this unwanted and complicated move once again in the next chapter. Exodus 4:1, 10-13 (ESV), “Then Moses answered, ‘But behold, they will not believe me or listen to my voice, for they will say, ‘The Lord did not appear to you…’ But Moses said to the Lord, ‘Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.’ Then the Lord said to him, ‘Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.’ But he said, ‘Oh, my Lord, please send someone else.’” Moses had his brother Aaron do the speaking for Moses when going before Pharaoh because of doubt that the Lord could use him. We are just like Moses sometimes, doubting that God can work through our inabilities. We doubt that He can use someone like us because we do not see ourselves through the lens of His purpose. We see ourselves through a lens of insecurity.
  2. The Song of Solomon Wife: Song of Solomon 5:2-3 (ESV), “I slept, but my heart was awake. A sound! My beloved is knocking. ‘Open to me, my sister, my love,my dove, my perfect one, for my head is wet with dew, my locks with the drops of the night.” I had put off my garment; how could I put it on? I had bathed my feet; how could I soil them?” To understand this verse in its full and true meaning, I used my Expositor’s Bible Commentary with the New International Version. Song of Solomon is an easy book to be misinterpreted because of its figurative language. Dennis F. Kinlaw, the author of the Song of Solomon portion of the commentary, said this scene is likely a dream sequence, and one quote that particularly stood out to me was this, “With our joys come fears. Often they surface in our dreams, arising from some sense of failure, or fear of inadequacy.” The Song of Solomon woman, although she is depicted in each chapter as a woman of lovely and sensual appearance, deep down in her heart she struggles with insecurity and anxiety. She fears that she will not be enough for her spouse, her beloved. This woman hesitates when her love is calling for her at her door. Hesitation brings consequences as we have already seen. Song of Solomon 5:6-7 (ESV), “I opened to my beloved, but my beloved had turned and gone. My soul failed me when he spoke. I sought him, but found him not; I called him, but he gave no answer.” Because of this woman’s fear, she was paralyzed in a moment of hesitancy, and she missed her love, for he had already left.

 

Paralyzing fear will hinder us in our walk with God and will hold us back from resting fully in our freedom to run recklessly and audaciously with our King, wherever He may lead us. John 8:36 (ESV), “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” We are free from our insecurity and our debilitating fear. They do not have the power to overcome us if we are living in the freedom of Christ. Hebrews 12:1 (ESV) “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,”. Let us toss off the burdensome weight of paralyzing fear and instead embrace the freedom we have to run the race God has laid out for us with reckless abandon.

 

Thank you all for reading my blog this week. May you all not be hindered by fear but run in freedom. I am going to be reading through a book called Wild and Free by Hayley Morgan and Jess Connolly this summer. This book is all about embracing the fact that we are wild and free in Jesus, and that we are always enough and never too much. I invite you to join me in reading this book. To learn more, please visit http://www.wearewildandfree.com/. I will see you all next week back on the blog. Until then, be wild. Oh and have strong coffee, just savor that heavenly flavor. I love you all. I am truly blessed to have such rad viewers. Thank you for that. God Bless!

 

In Christ’s Love,

Sarah

One thought on “Ditch Analysis Paralysis; Embrace Reckless Abandon in Christ

  1. I absolutely love that you have surrendered to His calling on Your life! True joy comes from being in His will. I cannot wait to hear about this new path!

    Like

Leave a Reply

