When Life Gives You Mount Everests

Mount Everest

Hi All,

Welcome back to my coffee drinking and Jesus loving corner. Today I want to share a truth that the Lord has brewing and speaking into my soul this week. Dealing with a continuous recurring health issue that keeps hitting me has got me thinking about immovable things that show up in our lives and how we respond to those things. I often like to take situations into my own hands, and if that does not work, I sometimes choose to come to a trusted friend for wisdom rather than on my knees before the throne. Do not get me wrong, building a support system of believers who will encourage you is crucial. We are called to fellowship and community. But leaving God out of the picture when dealing with an immovable object is ridiculous.

Imagine this—one person is at the foot of Mount Everest and is pushing on it an effort to remove an immovable object from his path. This person soon grows exhausted and disheartened as he throws one last shove at the mountain. Nothing budges. He will likely recognize that he needs help, but he foolishly calls upon a human friend to help him take that mountain away. Now two people are leaning against Mount Everest grunting and gritting their teeth. Instead of calling upon the Almighty God who rules the universe with full authority, that person depended on human hands to escape a God-sized problem. As silly as that image is, we do the same thing in life. We approach problems with the help of man. Nothing is impossible with God. Our Mount Everests are mere trinkets that God can remove. He has power over the chaos. However, a great number of things are impossible with man. God’s abilities far surpass our own. Psalm 118:8 (ESV), “It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man.” By not coming to the Lord in time of need, you are essentially declaring that you do not trust in Him, and you are independent from Him. Romans 8:13 (ESV), “For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.” The ways of man lead to destruction, but the ways of the Lord bring life and freedom.

When we reject help from the Lord, we are without excuse. We cannot say that we did not know the Lord cares for our problems and hears our cries. For the Bible makes it clear that the Lord will keep us and provide for our needs. Psalm 34:17 (ESV), “When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.”

Let us take a look at an example from scripture when the Israelites faced a giant God-sized trial and attempted to treat it with the strength of their feeble hands. The Israelites chose to prove their independence from the Lord in the midst of a war they could not fight alone. 2 Chronicles 16:7-9 (ESV), “At that time Hanani the seer came to Asa king of Judah and said to him, ‘Because you relied on the king of Syria, and did not rely on the Lord your God, the army of the king of Syria has escaped you. Were not the Ethiopians and the Libyans a huge army with very many chariots and horsemen? Yet because you relied on the Lord, he gave them into your hand. For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to give strong support to those whose heart is blameless toward him. You have done foolishly in this, for from now on you will have wars.’”

I think as human beings we often adamantly declare independence and self-sufficiency from God like we are pouty toddlers in the Terrible-Twos phase. We never fully outgrow that stage of life. We throw tantrums, storm off, and tenaciously hold to our own ways. We just want to do things on our own without the help of our heavenly Father.  Now wait, do not leave. I am a toddler too. We all are. It is the blunt and convicting truth. I cannot water it down. The Lord has had to remind me many times of my stubborn manner, and it stings, but it reminds me of my desperate need for the Lord. Like toddlers we also learn that there are consequences for our actions. For the Israelites they suffered through many wars because of their choice to rely on the King of Syria rather than the King of the universe.

So we have a choice when life gives us Mount Everests: Are we going to grit our teeth and wear ourselves down in defeat or are we going to cry out to our Abba Father and beg for Him to intervene? If only we would cling with our little fists to our Lord the way we cling to our own way of doing things.

Hebrews 4:16 (ESV), “Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” My friends, I am speaking this truth to myself today, not just to you. My health issues are a paradox for me, my family, and the doctors working to treat me. I cannot solve this, and neither can the doctors. All I can do is fall on my knees in prayer, entrusting this Mount Everest to my Almighty God who makes all things possible.

I pray that we all would surrender our mountains and immovable situations to our Father rather than continuing in our stubborn two-year old way. Men fail, but the Lord never EVER fails. Revelation 7:12 (ESV), “’Blessing and glory and wisdom and thanksgiving and honor and power and might be to our God forever and ever! Amen’.”

May you have a blessed weekend, and I will talk to you again next week, my dear friends. I praise God for you.

In Christ’s Love,

Sarah

5 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Mount Everests

  1. I know this tendency personally! A couple years ago, our pastor quipped the phrase: “Go to the throne before you go to the phone.” And that has stuck with me ever since! Thanks for this reminder!

    PS Found you on The Writing Collective:)

    Like

  2. Great thoughts, Sara! So many times whe my kids were toddlers I stood by ready and desiring to help but instead was greeted with, “I do it, I do it myself!” Only after they became frustrated would they turn to me. Your story really reminds me that I need to guard against doing the same thing to my Heavenly Father. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

