In the Midst of Crazies, He is There

sea-nature-ocean-rocks-large

Hello Everyone,

Wow, it has been quite a long time since I last blogged, and honestly it feels wonderful to be sitting down and finally doing this. Life has been a little hectic between balancing college with health issues. I’m writing to you while sipping a Caramel Macchiato from the fabulous Starbucks, and I’m sitting in a pile of mess (which was not planned). It’s spring break, and a lot of things have not gone as planned. I had all these expectations. I’m going to clean my room and make it beautiful. I’m going to meet up with every friend that I’ve been dying to meet up with all semester. I’m going to check off all the things on my to do lists while I can. Let me just tell you that didn’t happen. What’s awesome though is that the Lord makes beauty out of our crazies. My expectations don’t even scratch the surface of the perfect plans that my Lord has for my life.

There have been so many beautiful small moments this week, which I would have missed if I had been going my way. These past two days I’ve surrendered the first few hours of my morning to the Lord. I soaked in the Word and took time to write calligraphy/paint with acrylics. This quietness is beautifully refreshing. “We must exchange whispers with God before shouts with the world.” –Lysa TerKeurst

While I was at the doctor’s office this week to get more migraine treatment suggestions, I was able to share how my quiet times in the Word help me and give me peace even when my physical body is pained. Psalm 66:5-6, “Come and see what God has done, his awesome deeds for mankind!

He turned the sea into dry land, they passed through the waters on foot— come, let us rejoice in him.” The Lord has done amazing things in my life. He is constantly strengthening me and guiding me. He doesn’t always choose to calm the storm I’m in immediately, but He walks on top of the waves holding my hand the entire way. I will sing of His glory all my days. I’m a living testimony of God’s goodness, and getting to share that with others each day is incredibly important. As I was reading in The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst, the small things are worth being celebrated as much as the big yeses. 2 Corinthians 12:9, “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

That all being said, the Lord’s ways are far superior to my own. As I continue doing life, this missions statement from Gretchen Saffles’ Ruth Gospel of Grace Bible Study, will be my song and prayer.

“I, Sarah, choose to live a life of excellence and not perfection.

I choose to live life well for God’s glory and accept His grace when plans change.

I choose to follow God’s plans and trust Him when things don’t go my way.

I choose to praise instead of pout. I choose to be content rather then complain.

I choose to embrace moments rather than letting them slip through my fingers.

I choose a life of risk with Christ and for Christ instead of playing it safe.

I choose to live in grace. I choose Jesus.”

–Gretchen Saffles

Let us all delight in the crazies, and the things which don’t go our way. The Lord has our futures in His hands. As a daughter of the King, I am clothed in strength and dignity, and I can laugh at the coming days without any fear (Proverbs 31:25). May you have a blessed week. Hopefully I’ll be back on the blog much sooner than last time. It drives me crazy when I can’t post because I delight in sharing my passions and my life with you lovely siblings in Christ.

Signed with God’s Love,

Sarah

One thought on “In the Midst of Crazies, He is There

Leave a Reply

