But… She was Distracted with Much

Hi All,

This last week in my Planted Bible study from Life Lived Beautifully, I was reading about living a life of simplicity. One day I was reading about the story of Mary and Martha, the sisters of Lazarus. Jesus was coming over to their house for dinner. There was plenty of housework to keep Martha busy for days, and so she enlisted help from her sister Mary. However, when Jesus arrived at their house, Mary suddenly disappeared from the kitchen. Martha was working heartily all by herself. Of course, when Martha discovered that Mary was sitting in a room by Jesus’ feet with all the men, she was quite frustrated. Martha came in and asked Jesus to make her sister return to her duties as a server. What Jesus said next shocked Martha. This is what the Bible says in Luke 10:38-42 (ESV), “Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.” But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

This passage got me pondering over what things I focus on over Christ. What would the Bible say about me if I was Martha? But, Sarah was distracted with much…. School, hobbies, social events, and responsibilities. I should not be sacrificing my time with the Lord for anything. God is the most important thing in my life. Not even my family should be held in higher priority than God. Only “one thing is necessary” and that is Jesus Christ. The Lord holds up our entire life. If we do not have a relationship with Him, then our life is pointless. Let this verse be your song throughout the week, Psalm 18:2 (ESV), “The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.” Take some time today to pray and think over what things distract you from your intimacy with Christ. Run to Him and remember to hold Him who is the only necessary thing in your life above all else.

Thank you all for reading my blog. I hope you all have a delightful weekend. I will see you again next Friday. May God bless you through this message. Hasta luego!

Signed with God’s Love,

Sarah Klotzbach

 

One thought on “But… She was Distracted with Much

Leave a Reply

