Come to Him with Thanksgiving

food-salad-healthy-vegetables

Hello All,
Happy day after Thanksgiving. Today I wanted to talk about the importance of not only being thankful on Thanksgiving. We should be grateful each and every day for our blessings which come from the Lord. Of course, this is easier said than done. I find myself often mumbling and grumbling over ridiculous things. I have been given a wonderful family who treasures me. My family is deeply rooted in the faith, and they’ve constantly been with me through all the trials of life. I’ve also been blessed with friends who support me and are loyal, genuine people. Thanksgiving is not merely a holiday, it’s an attitude of the heart. Thanksgiving is not all about the huge festivities or the blow-you-away impressive food. It’s not even simply about family. The first Thanksgiving, in my opinion, was when the Israelites left Egypt because God had saved them. The Israelites responded by praising and worshipping the Lord in unity. It was a celebration. Anyway, let’s move on to what the Scripture has to say about thankfulness.

1. The Bible says to always be thankful regardless of what is going on currently in your life.
1 Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV), “give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” There are always things to be grateful for, and you shouldn’t have to think long in order to find it. We have been given so much. God has been merciful on us. How then can we be unappreciative? Praise the Lord for all He has done for us and for all He has given us.

2. We should praise God with thanksgiving because He sent His one and only Son to die for us. 2 Corinthians 9:15 (ESV), “Thanks be to God for His inexpressible gift!”
The Father cares so much for us that He sent Jesus to break down the barrier of sin which held us back from God. Now we can have an intimate relationship with Him. We can always talk to Him directly.

3. This one ties into number 2. We should praise God for loving and saving us even though we are wretched sinners. His love for us is unconditional and will last for all eternity. Psalm 106:1 (ESV), “Praise the Lord! Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever!” God is incredibly gracious towards us. He deserves all of our praise.

4. Thanksgiving is an act of worship. Sing, pray, and live life with a thankful heart. Come before the Lord with praise. Psalm 100:4 (ESV), “Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!” He is my Almighty God, and He deserves all of my praise and admiration.

Thank the Lord for everything at all times and in all circumstances. Praise Him in the trials because He reigns, and He will never cease from loving you. “Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” -William Arthur Ward

Thank you all for reading my blog. I apologize for the briefness of this post; life has been quite busy lately. My English Composition college course is wrapping up soon, and I submitted my ten page research paper on Monday. I’m also wrapping up my other classes so my schedule has been a bit more hectic than usual. I hope you have a delightful rest of your week with your family. Remember to be appreciative even for the small things in life.

Signed with God’s love,
Sarah

2 thoughts on “Come to Him with Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

