Let Us Meditate

blur-old-antique-book-medium

Hello All,

Today I’d like to talk about the spiritual discipline of memorizing and meditating on scripture. I’m currently using the Planted Bible Study from Life Lived Beautifully for my quiet times, and last week in that study we discussed this topic. Although people typically think of meditation being something to empty the mind in yoga, Christian meditation is the polar opposite. As Christians when reading a Bible passage we should not only be taking in the words, but we should be dwelling deeply on it and striving to apply it to our lives. One of my friends is doing this study alongside me, and we’ve set a goal to memorize one Bible verse per week; then test it out on each other. Last week we memorized Proverbs 3:3 (ESV), “Let not steadfast love and faithfulness forsake you; bind them around your neck; write them on the tablet of your heart.” This verse reminds me to wear God’s love everywhere I go, that people may know of the joy that I have in Christ. Memorizing Scripture together with a friend in the faith is a fantastic way to keep one another accountable for our Scriptural studies. We also will discuss our thoughts, interpretations, and goals we have for application based on the passage we’ve read. I highly recommend memorizing scripture and studying with a partner; if you are searching for ways to deepen and strengthen your faith life. Anyway, here are some Scriptures that discuss how crucial meditation on the Word is in Christianity.

  1. The Bible says to meditate on God’s Word day and night. At all times I should be dwelling upon Him. Psalm 1:2 (ESV), “But his delight is in the law of the Lord,and on his law he meditates day and night.”
  2. Through meditation on scriptures, God will give us His wisdom to go with us throughout each day. Psalm 119:97-99 (ESV) “Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day. Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers, for your testimonies are my meditation.”
  3. God’s Word is fulfilling like the richest of foods. We should be craving for more of Him because He will satisfy our souls. Psalm 63: 5-7 (ESV), “My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
  4. If we know the Lord’s Word we can use it to fight against temptation like Jesus did when He was tempted by Satan. Psalm 119:11 (ESV), “I have stored up your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” God’s Word is mighty and as we study it, we will be strengthened. Hebrews 4:12 (ESV), “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”
  5. If we have treasured God’s Word and studied it, He will use it to guide us daily. Psalm 119:104-105 (MSG), “With your instruction, I understand life;that’s why I hate false propaganda. By your words I can see where I’m going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path.”
  6. We are to focus on things which are God glorifying. Philippians 4:8 (ESV) “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” (My friend and I are memorizing this verse this week if you want to join us in memorizing it.)

I hope that this post has inspired you to further your walk with Christ through memorization and meditation of the Word. I will see all again next Friday, and sometime soon I will be having an exciting feature on my blog. Be sure to keep an eye out for that. I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Thank you for reading my blog.

Signed with God’s Love,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

