The Ultimate Promise Keeper

Hello Everyone,

I am trying out posting on Fridays to see if this day works better for my readers. On Wednesday, God revealed a situation to me where someone was being dishonest and was going against their word. I took the PSAT test Wednesday morning, and when you take that test, you are required to copy a promise down on paper and then sign at the bottom. The promise states that you will not disclose any information about the questions that were on the test to anyone. Wednesday night on Instagram, I came across a girl who I did not know who had also taken the PSAT but at a different location. She had posted a picture with all the topics from the Reading Comprehension test on it. She did it to be humorous, but yet she had made a promise and broken it. I’m not judging at all what this person did because guess what, we all do the same thing. Even though it may not be revealing test topics online, we still break promises every single day. We break our promises to God, our promises to others, and even promises to ourselves. We don’t always do it purposefully, but as human beings we have faults.

The comforting news is that God is not like us. He is the Ultimate Promise Keeper, and He will never go against His Word. God promised to Noah that He would never flood the entire earth again. Genesis 9: 11 ESV – “I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.”

He promised Abraham that he would have descendants numbered like the stars. Genesis 15:5 ESV – “And he brought him outside and said, “Look toward heaven, and number the stars, if you are able to number them.” Then he said to him, “So shall your offspring be.”

God promised that He would allow the Israelites to return back to their homeland, the Promised Land. Genesis 50:24 (ESV) – “And Joseph said to his brothers, “I am about to die, but God will visit you and bring you up out of this land to the land that he swore to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.”

He promised that He would send a Messiah that would save us all. Isaiah 7:14 (ESV) – “Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.” He promised that He would take away our sins and rise again. The Bible is filled with the Lord’s promises. Some have been fulfilled, and others have not yet been fulfilled such as Jesus’ second return. We know that God is trustworthy and will not break any of His promises because of evidence in the Holy Scriptures and also through our own lives.

If our God keeps His promises, then wouldn’t you suppose God desires us to be promise keepers as well? We are called to live our lives as trustworthy and honest individuals.

Numbers 30:2 (ESV) – “If a man vows a vow to the Lord, or swears an oath to bind himself by a pledge, he shall not break his word. He shall do according to all that proceeds out of his mouth.” If you know that it is impossible for you to do what you are about to promise you will do, do not say it. It is better to speak with honesty instead of committing to something which you are unable to do. Many people say things with well-meaning intentions, and they truly desire to assist people and serve others, but the problem is they don’t have a proper perspective of what they can and can’t handle. As I’ve been growing in age, maturity, and faith, I have had to step back and understand how much I can take on my shoulders. Sometimes even though I may desperately want to meet up and hang out with someone I have to be bluntly honest and say, “I am quite busy this week. When things clear up I will get back to you.” I also have to decide how much I can handle academically; I have to choose wisely which college courses I take so that I don’t end up with a hectic and stressful schedule. God has helped me balance out my life in a way which I have time to relax, do my quiet time, have me time, and spend time with my friends in the midst of things. He has helped me have the wisdom to organize my schedule so that I don’t have too much on my plate. The main point here is that before you go making promises you must pray and ask God to show you what you can take on to your busy life and what you can’t. If God says you can handle it, then you can because God never gives you more than you can handle. 1 Corinthians 10:13 (MSG) – “No test or temptation that comes your way is beyond the course of what others have had to face. All you need to remember is that God will never let you down; he’ll never let you be pushed past your limit; he’ll always be there to help you come through it.”

When you make a promise and fail to fulfill it, it doesn’t go unnoticed by God, therefore there are consequences for it. James 5:12 (ESV), “But above all, my brothers, do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or by any other oath, but let your “yes” be yes and your “no” be no, so that you may not fall under condemnation.” “A revolutionary way to love people well is to say no.” –Jess Connolly (from Naptime Diaries and the Influence Network.) True friends will understand when you can’t commit at the moment. You have to make sure that you take care of yourself and your life. Your prior commitments that God has given you are supposed to come first. Know your own limitations.

We are called to live and be like our Lord and Savior. If that is our calling then we should be speaking truth to everyone around us and speaking truth directly to our hearts. Psalm 89:34 (ESV) – “I will not violate my covenant or alter the word that went forth from my lips.” Don’t be afraid to speak honestly to others, especially with fellow Christians. Don’t act as if you’ve got it all together, and you can do everything. A lie is a lie whether you do it meaningfully like the girl who posted the PSAT topics online, or you get so incredibly busy that you forget to take care of something you promised you would do for a friend.

As I briefly mentioned in the previous paragraph, we are also supposed to be honest and speak truth to our own hearts. When you lie to yourself saying, “Oh I’m not worth it, or I’m not what people around me want me to be.” No, you are worth more than rubies. Proverbs 31:10 (NIV) – “Who can find a virtuous and capable wife? She is more precious than rubies.” You aren’t supposed to fit the worldly picture of excellence but you were made to live your life for the Lord. Ephesians 5:1-2 (ESV) – “Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children.  And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”

Thank you all for reading, and I hope that this message blesses you and reminds you of how crucial it is to speak truth everywhere you go. May you have a wonderful rest of your week, and I will see you again next Friday.

Signed with God’s Love,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

