Be a Bold and Outspoken Woman of God: It’s Biblical

strong woman

Hey All,

This post goes out to my fellow ladies. Do you ever feel underestimated or expected to behave in a certain way because you’re a “girl”? I know I sure do, and it drives me crazy. We women are full of guts, strength, independence, confidence, and determination. One of my favorite shirts in my wardrobe is a purple t-shirt which says, “I’m not strong for a girl, I’m just strong.” I walk around wearing it proudly with my head held high. I’m proud of who God created me to be: A bold young outspoken woman with a daring heart.

Many religions, countries, and people in general have attempted to debase women and see them as only sex objects and unable to take care of themselves or fight back. In particular one political figure has seriously insulted women recently (you know who that pompous man is), but that’s not the focus of this post. Women have been expected throughout history to be obedient, quiet, and mind their own business. I’m here to tell you that by being a women of boldness who speaks her mind, you are being Biblical. Most of the women in the Bible were recognized for being strong in character and for having the audacity to serve God and step out in faith.

Sarah- Had an abundance of faith in God and her husband as she left her homeland not knowing where she and Abraham were going. She gathered up all her belongings without questioning or attempting to persuade Abraham otherwise. I bet we all could learn from her obedience and courageousness in leaving all that she knows and holds dear to her heart. Sarah was basically leaving behind her hopes and dreams in order to fully follow the Lord and remain true to her husband. As well as being loyal it shows that she has an adventurous side. Embrace your inner adventurous spirit and follow God wholeheartedly like Sarah.

The Shunammite Woman- Was a woman of hospitality who realized that Elijah was a man of God and had her husband build a room for Elijah on their roof. She desired to have the Lord’s truth living inside her house, and she held Elijah in high reverence for his relationship with God. In her heart she deeply hoped to have her own son and Elijah promised that through God, she would bear a son within a year. She did give birth to a son as promised but once he had grown up, he fell ill and died in his mother’s arms. The Shunammite woman told her husband that “All is well,” then she went on her way to find Elijah. She begged him to return, and she told Elijah that she would not leave him. This woman had incredible faith in God that He could heal and restore her son to her, and God did. Therefore, she did not fear.

Esther- A Jewish woman who risked her life to save her people from the evil Haman’s plot to destroy all Jews. Esther sought God in all her choices, and she recognized the power of prayer. She fasted and asked all her fellow Jews to fast in prayer before she went in front of the King to beg for mercy on her people. God gave Esther confidence as she entered the kingly courts. When she spoke I imagine her voice was without trembling for she knew God was on her side. God used a woman and not a man in this heroic act. Esther 4:16 (NIV), “Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my attendants will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” If it weren’t for Esther’s courageous and faithful heart, her people would have suffered by the hand of Haman. Esther is known by the Jews as one of their heroes as she brought deliverance to her people.

Ruth- A Moabite woman who was formerly married to a Jewish man, the son of Naomi. When Ruth’s husband passed away, Naomi expected Ruth to go and return to her family and people. Ruth was a woman of loyalty and she insisted upon going with Naomi and taking care of her in her old age. Ruth 1:16 (NIV), “But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.” Then Ruth did something even more shocking, she picked up her skirts and did the work of a man out in the fields. She worked up a sweat day by day with determination, and she held herself with strength and stubborn will. She wasn’t going to give in. She put her whole heart out in the work she did with only one goal, to serve Naomi and God. Ruth’s selfless and hardworking spirit did not go unnoticed, a man named Boaz who worked in the fields saw her and fell in love with her. Boaz and Ruth got married and lived happily ever after. I sure do have a weakness for adorable love stories.

Deborah and Jael- Deborah was a prophetess in Israel. She related to Barak what God wanted them to do in battle. Deborah went up with the military as one of the leaders. Deborah foretold that God wouldn’t deliver Sisera into Barak’s hand, He would deliver him into the hands of a woman. That woman was Jael who saw weary Sisera and invited him to enter her tent to rest. She offered him a drink and promised to keep watch for him as he lay. Sisera fell asleep without suspecting a thing. Then Jael grabbed a tent peg and pounded it into Sisera’s skull, immediately killing him. Jael courageously followed God by taking action and killing Sisera without questioning for she feared the Lord.

The Proverbs 31 Woman- This chapter of the Bible focuses on all we are to be as women. We aren’t called to be idle or weak. We were made to rise up to every challenge that life throws at us. Proverbs 31:17 (NIV), “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” God created us to fear the Lord and carry ourselves with the upmost confidence and dignity. Provers 31:30, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

Mary the mother of Jesus- Mary, a woman younger than me, carries the strength of a lioness. She put all her trust upon the Lord, and she gave up everything for Him. She gave up her friends, her honor, her parents’ approval, and she was willing to give up her engagement and possibly even her life. Mary was joyful knowing that she was carrying the Messiah within her womb. Her parents did not believe her and everyone frowned judgmentally when they saw her. Joseph her betrothed was an honorable man and would not stone her, but he claimed he could not marry her for being un-loyal. God spoke to him in a dream and told him that she was telling the truth and to marry her. Mary then traveled on a treacherous journey with Joseph for the Census. She was extremely pregnant, but she did not fear. She went through the excruciating pain of giving birth at quite a young age but handled it with the strength of our Almighty God within her.

Priscilla- Was a Jewish woman who had a passionate fire in her soul for the Lord which she couldn’t contain. She along with her husband would share boldly to all around them without worrying over what people would think. There was a man named Apollos who loved God and shared that love with others, but he lacked part of the story. Priscilla and Aquila invited him over to their house and taught him the truth of Jesus Christ, to equip him in teaching others.

These fearless women inspire me each day to boldly proclaim the gospel, be unapologetic in my beliefs, and to hold myself with confidence, outspokenness, and bravery. Repeat this after me: “I (your name), am a strong woman who matters. I am confident in myself, and nobody can hold me down. I am priceless and should be treated as such and no less. My opinions matter, and I will NOT stand down. I will serve my God wholeheartedly and without fear because I know that my Lord is on my side.”

Don’t fall for the trick that women are expected to remain silent. NO, it is TIME for us to RISE above and be BOLD in the Lord our God. You truly are a treasure. No man is better than you. Women and men are both called to the same purpose: to glorify the Lord in all that you do and to share your passion for God without fear.

Take action today and stop standing back and letting men do everything. You are a valiant warrior of inner and outer strength. Now go out and be brave, share the gospel, and stop listening to the lies that you aren’t valuable.

Thank you all for reading and I hope that you have a fabulous week.

God Bless,

Sarah

One thought on “Be a Bold and Outspoken Woman of God: It’s Biblical

Leave a Reply

