War Room: Movie Review and Reflective Thoughts

praying_hands_albrecht_durer

Hello All,

I am sure you have most likely heard about the most recent Kendrick Brothers film titled, “War Room.” This movie was number one in the box office Friday night, making a total of $4 million within that night. I personally went and saw War Room that night with a dear friend of mine. When I entered the theater it was insane, almost every seat was taken before the previews even began. I was incredibly impressed by how phenomenal this movie was. They not only had a powerful message but a strong sense of humor throughout the whole film. I definitely found myself crying on multiple occasions from laughter as well as emotion. Many moments left the whole audience clapping and cheering for Jesus.

The plot written by the Kendrick Brothers was rock solid in the faith as always. I believe this movie stirred up mine as well as the other viewer’s passions for Jesus inside of us. The story revolves around a couple Elizabeth and Tony Jordan, who cannot seem to quit fighting with one another. Tony makes a sizeable paycheck and is dealing with pride and lustful temptations towards other females. Hold up before you teenagers leave, thinking it cannot apply to you. Let me tell you this movie will fire you up for prayer and for the Lord. Anyways, Elizabeth, who works as a realtor, ends up having Miss Clara, a devout Christian as her latest client. Elizabeth rants to Clara about her struggles and how Tony drives her crazy. Miss Clara shares with Elizabeth that she and Tony are fighting the wrong fights. Miss Clara showed Elizabeth her closet where she says she fights her battles. She had prayers covering every inch of the wall in her closet, demonstrating Miss Clara’s fervent prayer life. Through Miss Clara, God drew Elizabeth to Himself and showed her the importance of prayer and allowing God to take over your life. He showed her how to be forgiving towards her husband and give mercy to others for she has been forgiven of so much. Miss Clara is quite enthusiastic and bold in her faith. She is certainly not afraid to speak her mind. Her character was my favorite character for sure; she was absolutely hilarious.

I will absolutely be buying this movie when it comes out on DVD, and I could watch it over and over without tiring of it. I would definitely recommend if you have any free time, make sure to go see it.

After seeing this movie here are some things I am currently pondering and reflecting on, for those of you who have seen the movie or are going to, chew on this afterwards.

  1. Is my prayer life lukewarm or hot coffee? Nobody enjoys a lukewarm cup of coffee and if you do, I’m sorry: you’re a wacko. Miss Clara used this metaphor by giving Elizabeth a tepid cup of coffee when she asked her how her prayer life was. Elizabeth said she wasn’t hot, but she wasn’t cold. This movie inspired me to get deeper in my prayer and to get on fire with Jesus. Be deep and intimate. Express your thoughts: tell Him how you feel today. Example: “Dear God, I’m feeling lazy, all I want to do is read, watch chick flicks, and drink coffee.” Be thankful for all He has blessed you with. Example: “Dear God thank you for creating me to be the sexy and beautiful young lady I am.” Or perhaps with a bit more humility, your prayer could look like this: “Dear God I know that without you I would be a lost cause. You have rescued me more times than I can count and you have been with me through every step in life. Thank you for your mercy towards me and thank you for blessing me every day. I pray for (insert name here) she is struggling (illness, emotional issues, lack of faith, abuse, stress, etc. you name it.” Lift up any situation or person who desperately needs God to step in. Intercede for everyone you can think of. Prayer changes the game. I know that nothing is silly to talk to God about. I have talked to God about my phone conversations which He already knows about, my daily raging rants, the delicious food I ate, asking for wisdom on finding something for school, or the bigger issues. God wants to hear from me, and He wants to hear from you. Have a conversation with Him but remember not to spend your whole time talking but listen for His voice. Don’t worry about your life revolving around you as you pray. Push it away and spend time with Him for however long you wish. He’s got all the time in the world. Imagine if you had a boyfriend/girlfriend or a husband/wife, would you only spend time with him/her once or twice a week? I should hope you would spend time with him/her every day. A relationship can’t have intimacy without spending time together. Philippians 4:6 (NIV), “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”
  2. Am I extending mercy and forgiveness to others as Jesus did for me? I know that when I get hurt, I’m really hurt. It’s difficult to forgive and forget but that’s what God does every time we ask for forgiveness. He doesn’t sigh and say, “Sorry you really hurt me this time so no, I won’t forgive you.” Could you imagine if we served a God who did that? We’d be dead meat, and we’d be condemned to agony in hell for eternity. Ephesians 4:32 (NIV), “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”
  3. Am I fighting the right fights and am I fighting against the right enemy? Should I really be pushing for this? I need to know when to sit back and hold my steam inside me. I shouldn’t be picking an argument with a false enemy. Satan is using them as a decoy to distract me from himself. Satan is behind the true hurts of my heart and struggles in my life. Fight Satan off through prayer. John 10:10 (NIV), “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”
  4. Have I truly allowed God to take over and fight for me? As I posted a couple blog posts ago we are called to trust God and be still. I shouldn’t try and lift myself up and fight on my own because I will surely fail. Go check out my post “Don’t Worry; Be still” for more thoughts on this subject.

 

Thank you to all of my dedicated blog readers who swing by every Sunday to read my posts. For those who are reading my blog for the first time, welcome and thank you for taking the time to check out my page. I hope you will stick around and join my coffee drinking club for enthusiastic children of God. I hope I will see you again next Sunday. Until then, I hope that you will have a blessed week and that you will find time to go see War Room if you haven’t already.

In Christ’s love,

Sarah

6 thoughts on “War Room: Movie Review and Reflective Thoughts

Leave a Reply

