Don’t Worry; Be Still

Hello All,

I’ve always been a major fan of the stories containing a strong and independent female heroine. I tend to be a determined and willful person, desiring to have complete control of my life situations. I want to take care of myself and perfect my life in my own way. You see I have all these plans and purposes of my own, and I have them organized down to the individual details.

Does everything in your life seem to be in calm waters? Let’s take a moment and imagine this, all of a sudden, a swirling tornado storms in and turns your life into a disheveled mess. The wind currents are pulling you every which way, and all your plans you’ve built up are torn apart. You’re attempting to fight and pull yourself together but failing miserably. Then a calming voice breaks through the storm saying, “Don’t worry; be still; I will fight for you, my dear child.” Suddenly a sturdy hand reaches out towards you holding your trembling body close. You’re safe, and you don’t have to fight anymore.

Your life is in complete and utter chaos? Don’t fear. When your strength fails, God’s never does. You don’t have to have it all under control. No matter what trials you are facing, the Lord WILL fight for you. He made that promise to His people Israel as the Pharaoh led his Egyptian army after them as they are encamped by the Red Sea. Exodus 14:14 (NIV) “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” The Lord then parted the waters of the Sea to lead His people on dry ground. God cares and watches out for His children.

A song which I absolutely love called Never Once by Matt Redman reminds us of God’s faithfulness and how He is the one constant thing in our lives. My favorite group of lyrics says,

“Scars and struggles on the way

But with joy our hearts can say
Yes, our hearts can say
Never once did we ever walk alone
Never once did You leave us on our own
You are faithful, God, You are faithful”

Oh indeed what a comfort it is, knowing that through every moment God has it all in His control.  Nothing is too much for Him. He will always be there, and He never leaves us stranded. I remember last year when I was caught up in a major storm. One with doctor’s visits, pain, weakness, and tests being run. This sickness lasted for about five to six months, but it felt like a century. A repetitive loop and there was nothing I, Miss Fixer Upper, could do about it. I couldn’t heal my own body, and the situation was heading down the path of surgery which may or may not work. The doctors had no certainty that they could change anything. “I may be stuck this way forever”, I remember thinking to myself. Guess what? God had it all under control. It may not have seemed that way at the time, but as God drew me closer to Himself, I began to have a peace about it. I knew that whether God healed me or not I trusted in Him. I needed to take a step back and be still, allowing God to take over. When I began to let it go (sings Let It Go loudly in Elsa voice). Sorry I always do that when someone in my house says “let it go”. Anyways, once I gave my circumstances to God and rested in His peace instead of trying to be my own Savior, He took action. Three weeks before my scheduled surgery, a miracle happened, I was COMPLETELY healed! Not even a touch of sickness remained. I was leaping for joy and finally had strength in my bones to get up and to do things. I had this even more intimate bond with the Lord than before, and I am now living proof that God does fight for us and nothing is out of His control. He battled my sickness and won. His victories at times may not seem to be victories in our eyes. That doesn’t mean that your situation was out of His control. God works all things together for His perfect plan. Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV): ”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Ephesians 6:10 (NIV) “Finally be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power.” Take refuge in the Lord, and He will build you up and give you strength. Remember you are never alone and you do not have to be your own Savior. Christ came and died for YOU, to save YOU, and He is Almighty and Powerful. You cannot truly rescue yourself. Therefore give up your struggles and take it before the heavenly throne. Have peace and take a moment to be still in His presence today.

Until next blog post see you soon J

God Bless,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

