25 Words of Wisdom from Jane Austen

Hello Everyone,

For the past couple years I have literally fallen in love with Jane Austen’s treasured works of literature. I can tell you that I have spent hours upon hours reading her books. I have also spent hours watching all of the Jane Austen movies, and they are my go to for girls’ nights. Reading her books and watching the movies never get old. Not only do I find myself enthralled with her stories, but I find myself enthralled with her. Jane Austen is more than your typical romance novelist. She is a lady of strength, dignity, character, intelligence, and wisdom. She left an incredible amount of hidden wisdom cookies in her many writings. I decided to take some time to uncover 25 wonderful pieces of advice that Jane Austen left for us women.
Here it goes:
1. Stay grounded in your opinions, beliefs, and standards. Don’t give in when people mock you or it gets tough. “Laugh as much as you choose, but you will not laugh me out of my opinion.” (From Pride and Prejudice)

2. Don’t love people in halves. Love people with all of yourself. “There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” (Northanger Abbey)

3. Do not pursue a man if there isn’t love and affection between the two of you. “Oh Lizzy! Do anything but marry without affection. (Pride and Prejudice)

4. Sometimes you have to take care and rule over yourself. “I will be calm. I will be mistress over myself.” (Sense and Sensibility)

5. We as women have to be thoughtful and actively live out the art of compromise. “Men were put into the world to teach women the law of compromise.”

6. Both men and women alike can fall in love. Both males and females can struggle tossing and turning in their sleep desperately trying to forget and move on. Men do not forget any sooner than a woman does.
“Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you.” (Persuasion)

7. Take pleasure in and treasure a well written book. “The person be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” (Northanger Abbey)

8. There is a reason for our struggles in life. As Christians we know that God does not allow us to have pointless suffering, but it’s all in His perfect plan. “We do not suffer by accident.” (Pride and Prejudice)

9. Sit back and take in the beauty of God’s creation. Enjoy it and find peace. “To sit in the shade on a fine day, and look upon verdure is the most perfect refreshment.”

10. Have patience. God will bring the right man to you in His own timing. “To you I shall say, as I have often said before, do not be in a hurry, the right man will come at last.”

11. Allow your imagination and creativity to roam free. “Indulge your imagination in every possible flight.”

12. Guard your heart and don’t give it to just anyone for it is precious. “Beware how you give your heart.” (Northanger Abbey)

13. Go and do what you are set on doing with motivation despite the difficult path you may have to travel. “I do not wish to avoid the walk. The distance is nothing when one has a motive.” (Pride and Prejudice)

14. To fully move on you must forgive yourself. You must ask God to forgive you, and you must forgive others. Self-forgiveness is indeed a struggle. Once you’ve forgiven yourself, you then can find freedom from what has been holding you down. “…she had nothing to do but to forgive herself and be happier than ever…”

15. Don’t be so quick to judge for you are unlikely to capture the real deal justly. “But one never does from a just idea of anybody beforehand. One takes up a notion and runs with it.” (Emma)

16. Don’t hold on to your past. You will find peace in moving on. “Let go of the past because its remembrance will give you pleasure.” (Pride and Prejudice)

17. You should have no doubts about whether a man is the right one or not. If you have doubts then let him go. It will save you in the long run. “If a woman doubts as to whether she should accept a man or not, she certainly ought to refuse him.”

18. Don’t live a dull life but seek out adventure. “If adventures will not befall a young lady in her own village, she must seek them abroad.”

19. Allow a man to express his love for you and hear him out before turning him down. “You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” (Pride and Prejudice)

20. Beware of vanity for it may be your downfall. Do not be trifled with worrying over others feelings towards you. Only focus on how you feel about yourself “Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.” (Pride and Prejudice)
“But vanity, not love, has been my folly.” (Pride and Prejudice)

21. Don’t bother with the men who toy with a woman’s emotions like it’s nothing. They aren’t worth your time. “I cannot think well of a man who sports with any woman’s feelings.” (Mansfield Park)

22. You can gain an incredible amount of knowledge from books. “By reading only six hours a day, I shall gain in the course of a twelve month period a great deal of instruction which I now feel myself to want.”

23. Have contentment with what the Lord has given you: your home, family, friends, and life. You are incredibly blessed. “Wherever you are you should always be contented, but especially at home, because there you must spend most of your time.” (Northanger Abbey)

24. A true love recognizes one another’s flaws but continues to love anyways. We are all human. “Perhaps it is our imperfections that make us so perfect for one another.”

25. Before marrying someone you should be, “…completely, and perfectly, and incandescently happy…” with that person. (Pride and Prejudice)

Thank you so much for reading my first blog post and checking out my new page.

See you in my next post!

Love,

Sarah

5 thoughts on “25 Words of Wisdom from Jane Austen

  1. Great to find someone else who likes Jane Austen! I really like the movies, books, and your quotes. I myself have a great fondness of British people 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

